May I Have Your Attention Please – This Site is Not Officially Endorsed By the City of Longmont!

For the hard of hearing, let me repeat…Longmont Responds is in no way, shape or form associated with the city of Longmont or any employees thereof. The fact that there is a picture of a city building on here means nothing more than “this site primarily discusses issues that are on the minds of people in Longmont”. I thought this would be obvious, but there is still at least one who doesn’t get it. If the city really had a problem with it, I’d take it down. Mr. Wray, if you have a problem with it, get some thicker skin.

For the record, the entire article was not copied…these were pertinent snips of text that were being responded to (whence “Longmont RESPONDS”). I got a chuckle when I realized that Mr. Wray turned me in for posting snips and stating exactly where that came from. Apparently “fair use” only applies to those he wants it to apply to. That article was actually printed in the Times Call, so I could have just as easily have copied snippets from there. But to more quickly alleviate Mr. Wray’s temper tantrum, I’ve taken the quotes out so I can resume the responding that this site was intended to do. It really isn’t a big deal, if that is the way he wants to play.

Those clips weren’t posted b/c I didn’t think the law applied to me. I just failed to realize how truly bitter and desperate you were to try to silence someone who disagrees with you. I’m new to the whole blog scene, so I’ll just chalk it up to my giving people more credit for rationality than I should. Oh well, lesson learned. I’ll try to be more careful next time.

And Mr. Wray, I’ve mentioned this I don’t know how many times, but I’m not the mayor, nor his wife, nor any other official of the city, nor any other blogger that you tend to snipe at so frequently. No one has any say about what I post except for me. I disagree with many of your views, and you’ve not offered me the opportunity to respond to your articles on your site, so I made this one to allow myself and anyone else the chance to respond to anything they see anywhere that primarily (but not exclusively) deals with Longmont issues. You say I’ve desperately spun stories about Mayor Baum. Again, I have to laugh, because I can’t think of a better example of the pot calling the kettle black. Mayor Baum tends to be big news for your site, spun in your own way, so naturally I’m going to counter those spins the best I can. Not a coincidence at all, I just don’t agree with you. Why does it surprise you that there are others besides the mayor and his wife that disagree with you? Where on earth have I ever claimed to speak for the city or people of Longmont? I have to remind you of this almost every other post, and I think you are the only one who believes that. Believe it, and try to accept it this time…I’m my own “extremist” (to quote you, I hope that doesn’t violate any of your copyrights), completely unassociated with the mayor. And as for anonymity…I invite you to reread my previous post on the subject.

I’d love to hear from you directly, Mr. Wray, instead of you running to WP about trivial matters like the one you’ve described. All you had to do was ask…I would have responded. That’s what I do. 🙂

Disclaimer – This site, anything written on it, and any pictures posted here are not endorsed by the city of Longmont nor any of its officials or their wives.

3 Responses to May I Have Your Attention Please – This Site is Not Officially Endorsed By the City of Longmont!

  1. YAG says:

    This is pretty funny coming from a site that appears to not have an image of Longmont behind their webpage banner.

    Is that Boulder I see?

    If so, does the city of Boulder know that a Longmont site is mocking a picture of them insinuating that it’s instead their ne’er do well neighbor to the northeast? Maybe someone should tell them if that’s the case and that some hack site from Longmont is trying to sully their image? You know how they hate being compared to Longmont 😉

  2. YAG says:

    Oh gosh, hey…how about his use of the imagery on his personal Flickr page of other people’s children at city council meetings…(creeeeeeeeeeeeeepy that despite complaints, he still won’t remove the pictures nor his captioning the images noting that they are kids of the “Lunatic Fringe”)

    Or hey…how about the use of an image on his personal blog of his not so favorite mega church on Hwy 66? Does his use of that mean he endorses them? No, wait…he had cutely nicknamed it, so guess that doesn’t constitute use of their real name.

    That’s what hypocrites do. Keepin’ it real.

  3. Oh, Mr. Wray, you make me laugh.

    http://www.freerangelongmont.com/2011/08/28/a-reminder-about-copyright/comment-page-1/#comment-4791

    A fit? Really? When I cry to WP about having my feelings hurt, then we can talk. And I LOVE how you confirm your suspicions. Now that I think about it, if you believe I’m the Baums, that will actually make some of my objectives much easier.

    To “the public” – As Mr. Wray exhaustively says, definitely consider the source! Nothing posted here is untrue, and in fact, Mr. Wray went to great lengths to have the content of some of my posts removed. Must be more truth in what he’s seeing here than he’s comfortable with. Who is trying to silence who again? Until next time……

Leave a Reply

