How To Waste the Time of Others

Mr. Wray, I told you last time you tattled on me that if you see something on my blog that you think violates your civil copy-rights, all you need to do is inform me and I’ll respond accordingly.  Very simple, man to man, we can work through these issues which in reality are unbelievably trivial, even you must admit.

Unfortunately, you either didn’t understand me or just aren’t big enough to take care of your own problems, as I received the following from WordPress recently (the graphic in question was actually posted last May):

 

============BEGIN NOTICE

Email Address: webmaster@freerangelongmont.com
Location of copyrighted work (where your original material is located): http://www.freerangelongmont.com/2011/05/22/budget-wrecker/
First Name: Doug
Last Name: Wray
Company Name: FreeRangeLongmont.com
Country: USA
Copyright holder you represent (if other than yourself):
Please describe the copyrighted work so that it may be easily identified: Chart of Defense Budget – note less-than character at left bottom corner. This is an original work used without permission.
Location (URL) of the unauthorized material on a WordPress.com site (NOT simply the primary URL of the site – example.wordpress.com; you must provide the full and exact permalink of the post, page, or image where the content appears, one per line) : https://longmontresponds.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/privatization-and-its-effect-on-the-us-deficit/
If the infringement described above is represented by a third-party link to a downloadable file (e.g. http://rapidshare.com/files/…), please provide the URL of the file (one per line):
I have a good faith belief that use of the copyrighted materials described above as allegedly infringing is not authorized by the copyright owner, its agent, or the law.: Yes
I swear, under penalty of perjury, that the information in the notification is accurate and that I am the copyright owner or am authorized to act on behalf of the owner of an exclusive right that is allegedly infringed.: Yes
Signed on this date of (today’s date, MM/DD/YYYY): 02/01/2012
Signature (your digital signature is legally binding): M. Douglas Wray

============END NOTICE

 

Mr. Wray, did you really think it was necessary to waste everyone’s time by lodging a formal complaint?  And over what?  A very roughly drawn graph depicting the defense budget? (Really, anyone reading this should check the link above and see what the fuss is about…truly laughable and sad that anyone would even take the time to complain about it).  Are you really having a fit about me putting a copy of THAT on my blog?  Even with the link to your story?  (Which you moved for some reason, but don’t sweat it, I fixed my link, so we’re cool).

I get that you want to silence me, Doug.  And I get that my posts ring a little too true for your comfort.   But are you really that selfish with your wishes that you drag others in to do your dirty work?  People that surely have much better things to do than help you with your vendetta?  I can hear you now…”copyright violation is a serious infraction of the law, blah blah blah”.  Yep.  But are you that thick headed to realize that by actually formally complaining about this particular item, you’ve again caused more trouble than had you either A) been the bigger person and just left it be, or B) told me I didn’t have permission to use it (I don’t believe it was yours to begin with, but that’s beside the point) and allowed me to remove it voluntarily without forcing WordPress to waste their time?  I would have gladly credited that piece of work to you had I known it was actually yours.

Time to be a man Mr. Wray.  Stop wasting other people’s time because of your insecurities.  All you need to do is ask. 🙂

5 Responses to How To Waste the Time of Others

  1. Wile E. Coyote says:

    My thoughts are two-fold: 1) he’s attacking you to try and get you to respond with a complaint about his site, thus revealing who you are. But I’m certain you’re smarter than that (and probably actually have a life and not the free time he appears to have, to file worthless complaints) and 2) who is HE to be filing complaints when his blog is FILLED with stolen stories/pictures?!? Good God, is he THAT stupid to think that just because you write the author’s name so they appear to be a “contributor” that it’s not stealing their content? He complains if you lift two sentences from his site as a quote but then he’ll copy and paste an entire article to FreeRangeLunetics and call it legit? But I guess he can do that since Conservatives don’t believe in nanny-statetism and don’t feel it’s the gonvernment’s place to play big-brother to what’s posted on the internet, so we won’t complain. Wray couldn’t cry loud enough about “no SOPA/PIPA” but he doesn’t want you to have freedom to use a graphic or a few lines of text as an example for a journalistic purpose. HYPOCRIT – big, fat (and I’m speaking both literally and figuratively) HYPOCRIT. Just watch, he’ll probably report this post for using his name without having a permission form signed in triplicate saying I can do so!

  2. Oh, I’m more than happy to do my complaining right here where no one has to hear that doesn’t want to. 🙂

  3. Wow, what a complete tool you are, Mr. Wray. I was busted again for stealing your content? For posting a copy of (I guess) your graph back in May? A graph posted on several other sites with no mention of copyright? You are truly delusional. Fair use is truly lost on you.

    And remember, I tried to do it your way before, but you were an ass, so this is how you get to hear from me now. Kind of ironic that this “attack site” of which you speak so frequently and that so often corrects your spinning is essentially a product of your own creation, isn’t it? I would have been happy to debate in your own comment section at FRL, where you could have had some control. Oh well. 🙂

  4. NPH says:

    Haven’t seen you blog in almost a month, let me guess…you figured out what a big fat waste of your time and how self important Dooty and the Finger and their band of eejits really were? LOL.

    Welcome to the real world. It smells much nicer, doesn’t it? 🙂

  5. LOL it has indeed been admittedly quiet, but the ears are still open. Must admit that a recent tweet about vaginally probing all women who vote republican almost got a response, but I just felt too dirty. 😉

Leave a Reply

